Golf Management Australia is a national body representing the golf club management industry and is responsible for the delivery of day-to-day operational activities and services to state associations across Australia.

GMA Mission Statement

To represent Golf Club Management in Australia and, through state associations, provide professional development and support for members.

Annual Report

2019/20 GMA Annual Report

GMA Board

Name Position Club/Organisation/State
Cathy Neagle Chair Elanora Country Club, NSW
Peter Busch Vice-Chair Green Acres Golf Club, VIC
Anthony Masters Board member Barwon Heads Golf Club, VIC
Troy O'Hern Board member Mount Lawley Golf Club, WA
Aaron Muirhead Board member Oxley Golf Club, QLD
Kieran Semple Board member The Coast Golf & Recreation Club, NSW
Mark Tan Board member Mount Osmond Golf Club, SA

GMA Team

Region   Email
National Paul Vardy - Chief Executive Officer
National David Brand - Marketing & Communications
NSW Frances Cordaro - State Operations Manager (NSW)
VIC & TAS Rod Haines - State Operations Manager (VIC)
QLD Mike Orloff - State Operations Manager (QLD)
WA Jodie Alaban - State Operations Manager (WA)
SA & NT Zoee Dolling - State Operations Manager (SA)

Life Members

J. Alderdice (1967 – deceased)
E. Coker (1987)
D. Sanders (1991 – deceased)
T.A. Monteath (1999)
M.A. Mason (2013)
D.A. Burton (2015)
B. Friedlander (2019)

GMA History

Year President Secretary/Treasurer/EO Conference
1949 A.T. Barton D.A. McMullan Victoria
1953 (*1-2) A.T. Barton J. Alderdice New South Wales
1955 A.T. Barton J. Alderdice Victoria
1957 S.G. Towler D.C. Whillans New South Wales
1959 J.S. Alenson V.R. Dickensen Victoria
1961 J.S. Alenson M.C. Barnes New South Wales
1963 J. Merrick S.J. Casey Queensland
1965 E. Coker F. Sands New South Wales
1967 A. Markes F. Sands New South Wales
1969 J. Miller W. March Victoria
1971 V. Laymond W. March South Australia
1973 A. Marks G. Walker New South Wales
1975 E. Coker G. Walker Queensland
1977 (*3) K. Bartlett W. Martin Western Australia
1979 J. Merrick J. Le Boeuf Victoria
1981 (*4) D. Sanders C. McNamara South Australia
1983 K. Lyons R. Matheson New South Wales
1985 E. Coker M. O’Rourke Queensland
1987 T.A. Monteath Mrs B. Friedlander Western Australia
1989 I. Hibbins R. West Victoria
1991 R. Lewis A. Thiele South Australia
1993 R. Matheson G. Christian New South Wales
1995 J. Vassar I. Winkel New Zealand
1997 D. Gregory R. Huggins Queensland
1999 (*5) T.A. Monteath Mrs B. Friedlander Western Australia
2001 J.D. Stamp P.J. Rak Victoria
2003 K. Robinson D. Will South Australia
2005 G. Christian W. Francis New South Wales
2007 (*6) M.A. Mason S. Parker Queensland
2008 M.A. Mason B.R. White  
2009 (*7-8) M.A. Mason D.C. Allen Western Australia
2010 (*9) D.A. Burton D.C. Allen  
2011 D.A. Burton D.C. Allen Victoria
2012 D.A. Burton  D.C. Allen   
2013 D.A. Burton D.C. Allen New South Wales
2014 D.M. Lonnie D.C. Allen  
2015 D.M. Lonnie D.C. Allen Queensland
2016 S.B. Fenton D.C. Allen / J.D. Stamp  
2017 (*10) S.B. Fenton / A. Gay J.D. Stamp / J. Cail South Australia
2018 A. Gay J. Cail  
2019 (*11) A. Gay / C. Neagle J. Cail / P. Vardy Victoria
2020 C. Neagle P. Vardy  
Historical Notes

(*1) Western Australia and South Australia admitted to the Association.
(*2) Inaugural Constitution Adopted (NSW x 2, Vic x 2, Qld x 1, SA x 1, WA x 1)
A.T. Barton – The Lakes, J. Alderdice – Long Reef, J.H. Hill – Kingswood, E.A. Avery – Yarra Yarra, J. Armstrong – Indooroopilly, M.K. Jones – Glenelg, and E. Staunton – Cottesloe
(*3) Federal Council to consist of two delegates from each State.
(*4) John A Merrick Perpetual Trophy inaugurated.
(*5) Leon Thompson Memorial Trophy inaugurated.
(*6) Golf Management Australia Ltd. Constitution adopted and National Board appointed – July, 2007. (M. Mason – Nudgee, G. Hurford – Monash, N. Thornton – Sandhurst, B. White – Cottesloe, and J. Zadow – Glenelg)
(*7) Billie Friedlander Trophy inaugurated.
(*8) Championship Cup named “Ted Coker Championship Cup”.
(*9) Inaugural Executive Officer, D.C. Allen appointed.
(*10) Full Time Executive Officer, J. Cail appointed.
(*11) Full Time Chief Executive Officer, P. Vardy appointed.

Major Trophy Winners

Jack Merrick Memorial Trophy

Before 2013: Best five of seven stroke net scores per State team
From 2013: Best five of seven handicap stableford scores

Year Champion
1965 Queensland
1967 New South Wales
1969 New South Wales
1971 New South Wales
1973 Queensland
1975 Western Australia
1977 New South Wales
1979 Queensland
1981 Queensland
1983 New South Wales
1985 Queensland
1987 Victoria
1989 South Australia
1991 South Australia
1993 New Zealand
1995 Victoria
1997 Victoria
1999 Queensland / Western Australia
2001 Victoria
2003 Victoria
2005 New South Wales
2007 New South Wales
2009 New South Wales
2011 New South Wales
2013 Western Australia
2015 Queensland
2017 Queensland
2019 New South Wales
Ted Coker Championship Cup

Before 2013: Best gross stroke score: 2009 and 2011
From 2013: Best scratch stableford score

Year Winner
2009 B. White (Cottesloe GC, WA)
2011 B. Ellam (North Ryde GC, NSW)
2013 B. Ellam (Lynwood CC, NSW)
2015 S. Maynard (Sea View GC, WA)
2017 D. Shearer (Bunbury GC, WA)
2019 B. Robb (Southern GC, VIC)
Leon Thompson Memorial Trophy

Best men’s stableford score

Year Winner
1999 R. Shepherd (Royal Hobart GC, Tas.)
2001 P. Hall (Mornington CGC, Vic.)
2003 P. Parks (Kew GC, Vic)
2005 D. Weigand (RAE GC, NSW)
2007 A. Gibson (Surfers Paradise GC, Qld.)
2009 D. Brand (Glenelg GC, SA)
2011 N. Mackenzie (The Vines GC, SA)
2013 C. McGill (Horton Park GC, Qld)
2015 B. Dobson (Headland GC, Qld)
2017 A. Rosillo (Massey Park GC, NSW)
2019 B. Robb (Southern GC, VIC)
Billie Friedlander Perpetual Trophy

Best women’s stableford score

Year Winner
2009 S. Purnell (Mt Coolum GC, Qld)
2011 S. Purnell (Mt Coolum GC, Qld)
2013 M. Vernon (Pambula-Merimbula GC, NSW)
2015 F. Errington (Cardinia-Beaconhills GC, Vic)
2017 M. Castaldi (WA Golf Club, WA)
2019 S. Purnell (Mt Coolum GC, Qld)